Rebuilding Lives Awards

6 June 2017


The Rebuilding Lives Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements of people in the spinal cord injury community. This includes individuals in the community who support or inspire others, fundraise and raise awareness for SIA, or healthcare and law professionals that contribute to the treatment and care of spinal cord injured people. Our fifth awards ceremony will be taking place on Tuesday 6 June 2017 at the Williams Conference Centre. 

The nomination period for the 2017 awards opens on 1 December 2016, and closes on 14 March 2017. At the close of the nomination period, a judging panel will shortlist three nominees from each category and the shortlisted nominees will be invited, along with one guest, to attend the awards dinner and ceremony. The winner will be invited onto the stage to accept their award, which will be presented by a SIA supporter.

For more information about the Rebuilding Lives Awards please visit or email [email protected]


Here are the award categories:

SIA Torch Trophy Award – The award for outstanding corporate support through 2016/17.

Rising star Award – For SCI based healthcare professionals who go above and beyond their job roles to help improve the lives of spinal cord injured people.

Kindly sponsored by:

Inspirational Carer Award – To recognise paid and unpaid carers that dedicate their time to ensure spinal cord injured people live fulfilling lives.

Kindly sponsored by:

SIA Volunteer of the Year Award – For outstanding SIA volunteer(s), whether in the office, at events or service delivery.

SIA Fundraiser of the Year Award – For outstanding fundraising events participants and community stars through 2016/17.

Sports and Recreation Achievement Award – For an individual that has used sport to inspire others, whether as a profession or a hobby.

Kindly sponsored by: SIA Healthcare logo

Award for Innovation in Care – For the healthcare professional who has made a significant difference to the spinal cord injured community with their innovations or continuous improvements.

Kindly Sponsored by:

Outstanding Leadership Award – For the healthcare professional who motivates and inspires through their outstanding leadership.

Outstanding Team Award – For a team that has made a significant difference to the care, treatment or lives of spinal cord injured people in NHS SCI centres, District general hospitals and Rehab Centres.

Kindly Sponsored by: Irwin Mitchell

Paul Smith Award for lifetime Achievement – An SCI individual who has shown commitment and dedication to the spinal cord injured community, over a substantial amount of time.

Kindly Sponsored by  

Inspirational Achievement Award – For an SCI individual who has shown courage and determination as they rehabilitated and rebuilt their lives after injury.

Kindly Sponsored by

The Stephen Bradshaw Award for Rebuilding Lives – The overall winner award. The winner is chosen from all of the category winners.


To nominate a person that inspires you, please click here to go to the nomination form.


Thank you to our main sponsors for Rebuilding Lives Awards 2017:

Slater Gordon New  Hollister Logo HR

The event will be held at

Williams F1 Conference Centre, Grove, United Kingdom

Get directions